The Sound of a Thousand Squees

And now, I invite you to relax, pull up a chair, as I kindly present: Sebastian

FamilyOfLies-Sebastian - Copy

Sebastian Orwell did the only thing a smart wizard could do when he stumbled upon the wounded Crown Prince: he healed him and dumped him in a tavern where he could continue not being Sebastian’s problem. Unfortunately, the prince isn’t content with being alive, and he hunts Sebastian down to thank him personally. Not only is Sebastian stuck with the prince’s unwanted affections, he’s also confronted by growing evidence linking the assassination attempt to someone from his father’s past.

Lord Orwell is a lot of things: thief, liar, drunk, and all around horrible father, but Sebastian knows he’s no murderer. In order to prove it, Sebastian has to keep the prince alive long enough to discover the truth—a task made considerably harder because the idiot prince prefers wooing Sebastian over securing his own survival. On top of everything, Sebastian needs to save the day without revealing his magical powers and the real reason he hides his appearance.

Sebastian had no intention of playing the hero, but whoever is stirring up shit in his country will pay for destroying his quiet life.

Linky here. This book has been in my noggin since 2012, and I’m glad to see it real and available for pre-order. It officially comes out on March 18, but go on, you know you want to click that buy button.

On to writing news. I’ve been editing my ass off on a couple stories, but unlike Sebastian, I haven’t been able to see where their final finish lines are. So, my brain took a back seat, and I searched my feelings like a Jedi to come up with three rules:

  1. Do I care about my characters all the way to the ending?
  2. Do I get lost in the story when I’m supposed to be editing?
  3. Does the ending make me feel like a satisfied reader?

These rules will probably find space on my wall somewhere, so I can remember my end goals. Now I leave you with today’s celebratory song.

I am totally singing this in my evil scientist voice.

3 thoughts on “The Sound of a Thousand Squees

  1. I am currently in the middle of your novel, and I love it. It’s everything I want in a fantasy romance novel! I love m/m fics especially but find that they don’t always live up to their summary. Yours exceeds description in its awesome. I hope you have a long and prolific career. All the kudos and thanks for writing!

Leave a Reply

