YA Nibbles Part 1

My brain is a pitiful creature pulled in a dozen directions at once, and I’m finally ready to give one of them a true voice alongside Sam Argent. So today, I’m introducing you to Tamia Benson. There aren’t a bunch of secret nerdy references buried in this pseudonym, but there is a simple statement; a black woman wrote this book. Due to writing and my health, I’m usually watching on the sidelines when drama breaks out in the YA world. There were more than a few times when I wanted to deplete my spoons to rant on for days, and more than a few times when writing was the only thing that stopped me from becoming discouraged about entering that type of environment. Hell, writing sex scenes was less daunting than just being reminded of the statistics constantly working against POC in the YA market. So I guess this where having a life of shitty luck comes in. I’ve been through a lot, both physically and mentally, and if anyone is dumb enough to stand in my way, God help that poor soul.

Leave a Reply

